Dying To Self

“your life is hidden in Him” Colossians 3:3

“you are not your own” 1 Cor 6:19

“I die daily” 1 Cor 15:31

“present your bodies as a living sacrifice” Romans 12:1

What a bevy of verses! You mean, this life I’m living is not all about me??? Here is a list of things that I need to give up in order to be the homemaker that God intends me to be:

  1. Sleep – getting up earlier enables me to get the quiet things done without someone calling for Mom.
  2. Too much time on the computer  – I could limit this to an hour in the morning when I’m getting up earlier!
  3. Answering back in anger – DH, sometimes, is not so very dear. The scriptures say that remaining calm solves problems with an angry boss. (Ecclesiastes 10:4) Also, “grevious words stir up anger” (Proverbs 15:1)
  4. My way of cleaning – Now, how could this seem like a sacrifice? For me, it is. I have trouble staying on task with anything. I start one project and another catches my eye until I have a half dozen projects started across the house and none of them done. Routines means you have to stay with it until they become habit. Making and sticking to routines would be a sacrifice for me.
  5. Junk foods – I’m a better mother and wife and daughter and child of God when I am healthy.
  6. Doing things my way  – this is the hardest of all to give up. I imagine submission ranks number one on all wives list to ignore. We don’t like it. But, it’s God’s way and His ways are perfect.

That’s enough! There are more, but these are the ones I need to concentrate on now.

How do we know when a sacrifice ceases to be a sacrifice?

When that sacrifice becomes a habit and is no longer outside of how *I* want to run things in my life. For example: It’s not a real sacrifice for me to attend services every time the church doors are open, because I’ve done this since I was a baby. It is a real and living sacrifice for many who are merely “contemplating” attending worship. The sacrifice for me in this regard is to be ready on Saturday night for Sunday morning – having clothes out, shoes and socks or hose found, start dinner, or even prepare dinner on Saturday as my mother’s generation of Christian women commonly did.

When something is no longer a sacrifice, then, it’s time to look at ways to be a living sacrifice once again. Let’s say I have finally reached the level of a continual clean and organized home. It’s easy to me now. That would no longer be a sacrifice. Where’s the sacrifice now? Maybe, if that time comes before I die, the answer would be to reach out to others who also struggle and keep their little ones while Mother is trying to make sense of the mountains of paper that come into the home. Maybe it would be to clean a shut-in’s home.

Make out a list of sacrifices that you know you need to work on. The trials of this life, when handled God’s way will make us “come forth as gold” in the end. (Job 23:10) The way there will be worth it.

Sharon with Mary

This entry was posted in Bible, health; diet, home keeping, marriage, Mary, sacrifice, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

