I Am Mine No More

The words in the title of this post are in a song that we sometimes sing as an invitation song. They are the words that should be in the hearts of every Christian.

1 Corinthians 6:19b,20: “do you not know that…you are not your own? 20 For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body[a] and in your spirit, which are God’s.”

Today, I have started a new eating routine. I dare not say, “diet”, though that’s what it is. I have worn that word out. No, with the encouragement of a friend from across the sea and through the internet, I see even more that taking care of my body is more about glorifying God in my body than looking good or even being healthy. All that I have or am belongs to God because I was bought with a price, and that price was the blood of Christ. 

So, I’m taking on intermittent fasting, or using the “fast-5” diet. Here is a link to download the free ebook if you’d like: www.fast-5.com and go to the left hand column to click on the downloadable book. In a nutshell, you fast for 19 hours and eat for five daily. What you eat in those five hours is personal choice, but you must stick to the 19 hours of fasting. The suggestion in the book is to eat between the hours of 5 and 10 pm, so that the first 8 or so hours of fasting are while you are sleeping. I’m shooting for the hours of eating between 3 and 8pm. I can have a snack with my daughter when I pick her up from school and finish those five hours an hour or so before bedtime. I’m hoping to get to bed earlier – 9:00pm. Early is always best.

I am ecstatic about the food being a personal choice. Of course, the healthier a person eats, the better. However, just eating less than normal of any diet has been proven to be a healthier choice. So, for now, I’m going with what I’ve been eating all along, only less of it, and then begin picking up healthier eating habits as I go along.

Colossians 3:1-4: “If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. 2 Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. 3 For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. 4 When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory.”

I am happy to belong to Christ. I am happy for my life to be hidden and Christ to appear through me. I must honor Him more with breaking this devilish addiction to food that I have. Jesus would be more easily seen if I had a healthier body rather than a fat body. His message would be more believable to those who look for any reason not to believe.

Thank you to my two dear friends, Eileen and Pat who lives who knows where on this planet except in my heart. Thank you for helping me see more clearly the word of God.

Sharon, with Mary

This entry was posted in health; diet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

