Clothes clutter

Second post in one day!

We can always find a connection in God’s word to any little detail in our lives. Presently, I’m decluttering my family’s clothes because it’s been ‘way too long since we’ve had any order in this area of our lives. What does God’s word say about having more clothes than we need? Just see…

Luke 3:11 – “He answered and said to them, ‘He who has two tunics, let him give to him who has none; and he who has food, let him do likewise..”

The thrift shops in our area are about to be receiving car loads of our extra clothes for those who don’t have what they need. I’ve started decluttering our clothes today, but since I have such a problem staying on task with anything I asked my sister-in-law to call me today at 9:00am to see how I was doing. That helped me stay focused this morning. By the time she called, I had worked in our clothes mountain for an hour and a half. What a help that was for her to call!

That’s enough for one day, though. I’ll get back to it in a couple of days because I don’t want to let other things go or burn out in the clothes pile. Maybe just maybe, I’ll have my house presentable enough to “practice hospitality” by Christmas. I have let myself be my own god in this as well as in food. I have well been on my way to being found dead under my clutter as an old woman like you hear on the news sometimes, if things didn’t begin to turn around in a major way. I got behind while I was sick for over a month and my husband was away for about that long at work, but I wasn’t a neatnik before that either. That sickness is just a good excuse for me.

Romans 6:22-23 – “But now having been set free from sin, and having become slaves of God, you have your fruit to holiness, and the end, everlasting life. 23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Though food addiction and sloppy housekeeping aren’t sins on the same degree as adultery or lying, still, death is the wage of them all. I want the gift of God.. eternal life. These two battles of mine that I have long fought without much success start anew today.

Sharon, with Martha

This entry was posted in home keeping. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clothes clutter

  1. Mary E. Wacaster says:

    I tried yesterday to see if you had written anything lately. So now you have!
    I agree Sharon, you are much concerned over things that do not matter. Jesus told Martha that she was overly concerned with the cooking, not that she should forget it altogether, but that she was overly concerned. Do not let the tares choke you out. Just try to learn to live with what you have and what you are. Then do the good that you know to do. If you have two tunics, give one to someone that has none, not to someone who will sell it to someone that has none. If you find someone hungry and in need of something, be concerned with that need, even if it is a crumb of bread, or a moment only of you time… it is what is required. I have had some of the same struggles that you seem to be going through right now, but as the years took my time, I learned that these things grow strangely dim in the light of His love. Seek Him and His kingdom, and these things will be taken care of, really! You may remain fat, and your house may remain cluttered, but your heart will be where it should be!

    • Thank you so much, Mary. I’ve wondered about taking clothes to a thrift shop when it would be better to give it to someone so they wouldn’t have to buy it. But, there are so many clothes, and the thrift shop does help the domestic violence house in town. Also, it helps the poor keep some dignity of buying rather than getting handouts. I bought some slacks there for $2.00, so it’s almost the same as being free.
      I really have to get these two areas under control. I can tell my health is failing and anyone who comes to my door, I have to meet them outside rather than invite them in. I just have to put a stop to that.
      Thanks for commenting! I always love your comments.

  2. grandmawacaster says:

    I’m sorry, Sharon. I don’t think you quite understood what I was trying to say. I don’t know why we seem to stress out on the things that make up our daily routines, but we do. And they can become such a burden to us that it can drive us crazy! Martha was just one example of making something more of what needed to be done. Christ knew that Peter was impulsive, and it sounded like he continually calmed him down, or lovingly rebuked him. Three time Paul asked that his “thorn in the flesh” be removed; Christ told him that His grace was sufficient for him. I don’t know, but I would think that they all finally learned to “press on” leaving those problems behind. He probably didn’t tell Martha to quit cooking, or for Peter to “stop” what he was doing about those impulses, but to calm down and take “one step” at a time and do what was necessary and what they were capable of getting done, and forget it, to do the things that were more necessary. He might have added to them, too, that His grace was sufficient for them! Don’t “consider” the sins so much, but press on! His grace has taken care of all that! We shouldn’t dispare because we can’t be perfect as we would like to be, especially when we know that we can’t be, for the doing good that we do is to be done to and for others, not making brownie points for ourselves. If that seems a little hard right now, just consider it for a while. I know that as you grow old that this will become more a point in you life.

Leave a Reply

